Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies contact@dias.ie 00353 (0) 16140100

4th July 2013 – 2013 O’Ceallaigh Medal

We are pleased to announce that the 2013 O’Ceallaigh Medal has been awarded to Professor Edward C. Stone (California Institute of Technology).

Professor Stone is the project scientist for the Voyager missions which are now leaving the solar system and for the first time, entering interstellar space.

DIAS Press Release

Professor Stone has served as project scientist for the Voyager program since 1972.  He received the award on Thursday 4th July at the opening ceremony of the 33rd International Cosmic Ray Conference (ICRC2013) which is currently taking place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from 2nd -9th July.

The O’Ceallaigh medal was jointly established by the School of Cosmic Physics and the estate of the late Cormac O’Ceallaigh, Senior Professor and Head of the Cosmic Ray Section from 1953 to 1984, to honour scientists who have made distinguished contributions to Cosmic Ray Physics. The recipient of the award is chosen by the Commission on Cosmic Rays of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics and the medal is presented as part of the opening ceremony at the biennial International Cosmic Ray Conference.  The medal was first awarded at the Salt Lake City conference in 1999.


O’Ceallaigh Medallists:

1999 – John A. Simpson (Chicago) and George T. Zatsepin (Moscow)
2001 – Vitalii L. Ginzburg (Moscow)
2003 – Frank B McDonald (Maryland)
2005 – Tom Gaisser (USA)
2007 – V. Berezinsky (Italy)
2009 – Ramanath Cowsik (USA)
2011 – Alan Watson (UK)
2013 – Edward Stone (USA)