Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies contact@dias.ie 00353 (0) 16140100

Council and Governing Boards as at 31/3/1950

Council of the Institute

Reverend Patrick Browne

Ex-officio Members
Dr Michael Tierney, President University College Dublin
Dr Ernest H. Alton, Provost Trinity College Dublin
Professor John J. Nolan, President of Royal Irish Academy

Appointed Members
Right Reverend Monsignor Patrick Boylan
Professor Michael A. O’Brien
Professor Felix E. W. Hackett
Professor Albert J. McConnell
Professor Leo W. Pollak

Governing Boards of the Constituent Schools

School of Celtic Studies

Right Reverend Monsignor Patrick Boylan

Senior Professors (ex-officio)
Michael A. O’Brien
Daniel A. Binchy
Myles Dillon

Appointed Members
Miss Eleanor Knott
Miss Áine de Paor
Reverend Professor John Ryan
Reverend Professor Francis Shaw
Liam Ó Buachalla
Liam Ó Domhnaill
Edward MacLysaght (Éamonn Mac Giolla Iasachta)
Ernest Gordon Quin (Earnán Ó Cuinn)

School of Theoretical Physics

Arthur W. Conway, President University College Dublin

Senior Professor (ex-officio)
Erwin Schrödinger
John Lighton Synge

Appointed Members
Edmund T. Whittaker
William H. McCrea
Felix E.W. Hackett
Albert J. McConnell
Alfred O’Rahilly
George R. Keating
Thomas S. Wheeler

School of Cosmic Physics

John J. Nolan

Senior Professor (ex-officio)
Leo W. Pollak
Hermann A. Brück
Lajos Jánossy

Appointed Members
John J. Dowling
Eric M. Lindsay
Rev. Patrick J. I. McLaughlin
Austen H. Nagle
Thomas Edwin Nevin
Patrick J. Nolan
John H. J. Poole
Ernest T. S. Walton