Star Formation: From Clouds to Discs
A Tribute to the Career of Lee Hartmann
Hosted by the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies
18th - 21st October 2021, Grand Hotel, Malahide, Ireland

Thank you!

A massive thank you from all of the LOC and SOC to all participants, speakers and, of course, Lee Hartmann himself. Please check out our new contributions page where you can find all the contributed posters for the conference. We hope to see you all in Dublin again!


The Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies is delighted to host this conference in October 2021 at the Grand Hotel in Malahide, just north of Dublin. This conference's purpose is to bring together experts within the star formation community in tribute to the career of Lee Hartmann.

"... bringing the star formation community together ..."

Titled 'From Clouds to Discs', our covered range of topics spans multiple orders of magnitude in scale and a variety of phenomena, from the birth conditions of young stars, to their accretion discs and back out to examine their feedback upon their environment.

Warning! Some invited speakers have been contacted by people claiming to be the Conference Hotel. This is a scam; we do not share your contact information with the hotel so there is no way the hotel can contact you without you first getting in touch with them.

Conference poster

Invited Speakers

The following invited speakers have confirmed their attendence on the revised conference dates.
  • Silvia Alencar (UFMG, Brazil)
  • Héctor Arce (Yale University, USA)
  • Javier Ballesteros-Paredes (UNAM, Mexico)
  • Myriam Benisty (IPAG, France)
  • César Briceño (Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory, Chile)
  • Nuria Calvet (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Catherine Dougados (IPAG, France)
  • Rebeca Garcia Lopez (UCD, Ireland)
  • Fabian Heitsch (University of North Carolina, USA)
  • Patrick Hennebelle (CEA, France)
  • Gregory Herczeg (Kavli Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics, China)
  • Lynne Hillenbrand (Caltech, USA)
  • Jesús Hernández (UNAM, Mexico)
  • Ágnes Kóspál, (Konkoly Observatory, Hungary)
  • Marina Kounkel (Western Washington University, USA)
  • Tom Megeath (University of Toledo, USA)
  • Michael Meyer (The University of Michigan, USA)
  • Zhaohuan Zhu (University of Nevada, USA)

  • Scientific Rationale

    Star formation involves many physical processes, scales, and different types of objects, the origin of which are subject to intense debate. How do molecular clouds form and how do they evolve? What are the key processes that define the initial stellar mass function? What are the physical properties of small stellar groups, as well as stellar clusters? How do accretion discs evolve to allow grain growth and planet formation? How is angular momentum redistributed with time from molecular cloud scales down to those of individual stars? What can we learn from episodic accretion and outflow? What is the role of stellar feedback in the rapid dispersal of the parent cloud, as well as in sequential star formation? Our understanding of how stars are born to their dispersal as young moving groups, has grown enormously in the last decade. In part this is due to new facilities like ALMA and space observatories such as Herschel and GAIA, but also increasingly more powerful and realistic simulations of the processes involved.

    This conference will celebrate the career of Lee Hartmann, who has made enormous contributions to our field during his productive life. For over 3 decades Lee has been a leading pioneer in characterizing the physics of molecular clouds, stars and planet formation. His scientific breadth and impact can be seen in his studies on molecular cloud formation and cloud lifetimes. This has led to a change in our paradigm of star formation towards more rapid evolution. He has been among the first to recognize the importance of accretion and magnetic fields in the phenomena observed in young stars, and has led ground-breaking efforts characterizing these effects. As a tribute to Lee, but also recognizing that we stand on the threshold of a new era with the arrival of JWST, E-ELT and SKA, it is appropriate to take stock of the most fascinating developments in our field, emphasizing those areas where Lee has made significant contributions.

    Organising Committees

    Chairing this conference and responsible for our scientific programme is the Scientific Organising Committee consisting of Javier Ballesteros-Paredes (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México), John Bally (University of Colorado Boulder), Ian Bonnell (University of St. Andrews), Jerome Bouvier (Institute de Planétologie et d'Astrophysique de Grenoble), Andreas Burkert (Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich), Nuria Calvet (University of Michigan), Suzan Edwards (Smith College), Bruce Elmegreen (IBM Research Division), Catherine Espaillat (Boston University), Thomas Henning (Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics), Tom Ray (Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies) and Leonardo Testi (European Southern Observatory).

    For the running, organisation and administration of the conference, our Local Organising Committee consists of Alessio Caratti o Garatti, Eileen Flood, Pauline McGinnis, Simon Purser, Devaraj Rangaswamy and Camille Stock.