Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies contact@dias.ie 00353 (0) 16140100

About Us

As the world’s second, and Ireland’s only, Institute for Advanced Studies, DIAS is a globally embedded institution that attracts scholars and academics from around the world.  It conducts and publishes advanced research across three disciplines: Celtic Studies, Theoretical Physics and Cosmic Physics.  DIAS also leads Ireland’s participation in a number of international research endeavours that focus on big unanswered questions for mankind. Read more in our

2018-2022 Strategy – Embedded globally, strength locally.

The Annual Report for 2018 is now available: DIAS Annual Report 2018.

The Registrar & CEO is Dr. Eucharia Meehan MRIA.

The research work of DIAS is currently organised in three schools:

  • The School of Celtic Studies Director:  Professor Ruairí O hUiginn
  • The School of Theoretical Physics Director: Professor Werner Nahm
  • The School of Cosmic Physics
    • Astronomy & Astrophysics Section Head – Professor Peter Gallagher
    • Geophysics Section Head – Professor Chris Bean

Institute of Physics Project Juno Supporter