DIAS Headquarters, 10 Burlington Road - D04C932 contact@dias.ie 00353 (0) 16140100

O’Ceallaigh Medal


The O’Ceallaigh medal was jointly established by the School of Cosmic Physics and the estate of the late Cormac O’Ceallaigh, Senior Professor and Head of the Cosmic Ray Section from 1953 to 1984, to honour scientists who have made distinguished contributions to Cosmic Ray Physics. The recipient of the award is chosen by the Commission on Cosmic Rays of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics and the medal is presented as part of the opening ceremony at the biennial International Cosmic Ray Conference. The medal was first awarded at the Salt Lake City conference in 1999.

O’Ceallaigh Medallists

2023 – Sunil Gupta (India)
2021 – Paolo Lipari (Italy)
2019 – Piergiorgio Picozza (Italy)
2017 – Christian Spiering (Germany)
2015 – Jun Nishimura (Tokyo)
2013 – Edward Stone (USA)
2011 – Alan Watson (UK)
2009 – Ramanath Cowsik (USA)
2007 – V. Berezinsky (Italy)
2005 – Tom Gaisser (USA)
2003 – Frank B McDonald (Maryland)
2001 – Vitalii L. Ginzburg (Moscow)
1999 – John A. Simpson (Chicago) and George T. Zatsepin (Moscow)