Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies contact@dias.ie 00353 (0) 16140100

Council and Governing Boards as at 31/3/1952


Council of the Institute

Right  Reverend Monsignor Patrick Browne

Ex-officio Members
Dr Michael Tierney, President University College Dublin
Dr Albert J. McConnell, Provost Trinity College Dublin
Right Reverend Monsignor Patrick Boylan, President of Royal Irish Academy

Appointed Members
Professor Michael A. O’Brien
Professor Felix E. W. Hackett
Professor Leo W. Pollak

Governing Boards of the Constituent Schools

School of Celtic Studies

Right Reverend Monsignor Patrick Boylan

Senior Professors (ex-officio)
Michael A. O’Brien
Daniel A. Binchy
Myles Dillon

Appointed Members
Miss Áine de Paor
Reverend Professor John Ryan
Reverend Professor Francis Shaw
Edward MacLysaght (Éamonn Mac Giolla Iasachta)
Ernest Gordon Quin (Earnán Ó Cuinn)
Reverend Donnchadh Ó Floinn

School of Theoretical Physics

Felix E.W. Hackett

Senior Professor (ex-officio)
Erwin Schrödinger
John Lighton Synge

Appointed Members
Albert J. McConnell
George R. Keating
Alfred O’Rahilly
Thomas S. Wheeler
Reverend James R. McConnell
Máirtín Ó Tnúthaíl
Patrick Quinlan

School of Cosmic Physics

John J. Nolan

Senior Professor (ex-officio)
Leo W. Pollak
Hermann A. Brück

Appointed Members
John J. Dowling
Eric M. Lindsay
Rev. Patrick J. I. McLaughlin
Thomas Edwin Nevin
Patrick J. Nolan
John H. J. Poole
Ernest T. S. Walton
Mariano Doporto