DIAS Headquarters, 10 Burlington Road - D04C932 contact@dias.ie 00353 (0) 16140100



MASTER (Magnetotelluric Acquisition Systems for Terrestrial Earth Research) is a large scale national equipment pool of magnetotelluric (MT) instruments. It is funded by an Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) Infrastructure Award in collaboration with the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI).


iMARL the “Insitu Marine Laboratory for Geosystems Research” is a network of various types of ocean floor located sensors, hosted by DIAS Geophysics. It comprises broadband Ocean Bottom Seismographs (OBS), broadband acoustic sensors, and sensors for measuring absolute water pressure & temperature at the ocean floor. A system capable of detecting tsunamis also forms part of the infrastructure. The sensor pool is largely mobile and can, in principle, be deployed around the world. However the current focus is on the NE Atlantic, offshore Ireland. One instrument will be fixed and will ultimately become a real-time sensing offshore element of the Irish National Seismic Network (www.insn.ie). Through an award to the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies (DIAS) the iMARL infrastructure is funded by Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) with support from the Geological Survey, Ireland.

For more information, please visit www.imarl.ie

Irish National Seismic Network

The Geophysics Section within DIAS operates and maintains the Irish National Seismic Network (INSN), since 2018 with support from the Geological Survey Ireland (GSI). The INSN has operated since 1980 and some of the seismic stations are operated in collaboration with Met Eireann and also GFZ in Germany. Data are transmitted from the stations in real-time to the INSN data centre located in 5 Merrion Square, Dublin 2 and to our international partners GFZ, the British Geological Survey (BGS), ORFEUS and IRIS.

For more information on the INSN please go to https://www.insn.ie.

For further information please contact:

Dr Martin Möllhoff, Director of Seismic Networks – martin@dias.ie


Prof. Chris Bean, Head of the Geophysics Section – chris.bean@dias.ie