Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies contact@dias.ie 00353 (0) 16140100

Seismic Network Text

Irish National Seismic Network (INSN)

The Geophysics Section of the School of Cosmic Physics, Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies, has been recording seismic events in Ireland since 1978. The station configuration has varied over the years.  Currently there are five permanent broadband seismic recording stations in Ireland:

  • DSB in the Dublin Mountains, operated in collaboration with the GeoForschungsZentrum Potsdam (GFZ, Germany)
  • VAL, situated at the Valentia Observatory in Caherciveen, County Kerry, is operated in collaboration with Met Eireann
  • IGLA in Oughterard, Co. Galway, operated by DIAS
  • IDGL on Inch Island, Co. Donegal, operated by DIAS
  • IWEX on Carrickbyrne Hill, Co. Wexford, operated by DIAS
  • ILTH on the Cooley Peninsula, Co. Louth, operated by DIAS

The seismic data from these stations comes into DIAS in real-time, and are studied for local and regional events. See map above for current station locations.  For a quick view of the current data from the six INSN stations , please click dsb_24hr_trace.

Data are currently being transmitted from the six permanent stations in real-time to the DIAS seedlink server located in Merrion Square. Real-time international data exchange is currently taking place with GeoForschungsZentrum (GFZ, Germany), the British Geological Survey (BGS), Instituto Geografico Nacional (IGN, Spain), Instituto de Meteorologil (IP, Portugal), and ORFEUS (Observatories and Research Facilities for European Seismology).

The current Director of the Irish National Seismic Network (INSN), is Mr Thomas Blake, and he can be contacted at +35316535147 x 223 or via email at tb[at]cp.dias.ie